August 11, 2017

Greens Name Extended Squad For Falcons Trip

Nottingham Rugby Head Coach Ian Costello has named a 32-man squad to travel to the Green and Whites’ first pre-season fixture, at Newcastle Falcons’ Kingston Park, this Saturday (4pm kick-off).

At this stage of the season, Costello, who is beginning his second year in charge at the club, is keen to give as many of his first team squad a taste of competitive rugby as possible, and plans to use all 17 of his replacements at some stage during the match.

New signings Sean Scanlon, James Penman, Danny Qualter, Aniseko Sio, Rory Burke and Alex Crocker are all set to make their first appearances in a green and white jersey, whilst Stratstone Land Rover Academy youngsters Seb Cecil and Connor Field are both handed a chance to impress from the bench.

Nottingham last met the Falcons, in a pre-season friendly, in Darlington, last August, with a full-strength Premiership side running out 50-12 winners, despite the Greens scoring the first try of the game, via Josh Skecley, just 60 seconds in.

Darryl Veenendaal in action against the Falcons, last August.

This season, the match is part of a double-header for Newcastle, kicking off against the Green and Whites at 4:30pm, with Dean Richard’s side taking on Nottingham’s local rivals Doncaster Knights beforehand, kicking-off at 2:00pm.

Tickets for the fixture cost just £10 for adults and £5 for juniors and can be purchased on the day, or by visiting the Falcons’ website.

Live updates from the game, can be found via the club’s official Twitter feed from 3:55pm.

Team to face Newcastle:

15) Sean Scanlon

14) Billy Robinson

13) Joe Cobden

12) Oli Evans

11) Jack Spittle

10) Tiff Eden

9) Darryl Veenendaal

1) James Penman

2) Jimmy Stevens

3) Ben Hooper

4) Tom Holmes

5) Danny Qualter

6) Ben Morris (C)

7) Jordan Coghlan

8) Josh Poullet



16) Ben Brownlie

17) Aniseko Sio

18) Rory Burke

19) Tim Cardall

20) Ben Davis-Moore

21) George Cox

22) Matt Everard

23) Seb Cecil

24) Jamie Jack

25) Murray McConnell

26) Alex Crocker

27) Gearoid Lyons

28) Vili Hakalo

29) Connor Field

30) Alex Goble

31) David Williams

32) Will Sutton

This website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience... moregot it