Nottingham fly-half Shane O’Leary has been included in Canada’s World Cup squad to face the USA Eagles.

As Canada’s national rugby team prepares to host the USA Eagles in a final test match this weekend at BC Place Stadium, head coach Kingsley Jones has announced the 31-player World Cup roster that will represent Canada at the 2019 Rugby World Cup (RWC) in Japan.

Canada is one of 20 nations that have qualified for the 2019 Rugby World Cup is being hosted for the first time ever in Asia from September 20th to November 2nd. There are a total of 48 matches that will be spread across 12 host cities, with each match venue hosting a minimum of two matches.

Canada’s 2019 Rugby World Cup Roster:
Tyler Ardron
Kyle Baillie
Justin Blanchet
Nick Blevins
Hubert Buydens
Luke Campbell
Andrew Coe
Jeff Hassler
Ciaran Hearn
Matt Heaton
Eric Howard
Jake Ilnicki
Cole Keith
Conor Keys
Ben LeSage
Phil Mack
Jamie Mackenzie
Gordon McRorie
Peter Nelson
Shane O’Leary
Evan Olmstead
Patrick Parfrey
Taylor Paris
Benoit Piffero
Andrew Quattrin
Lucas Rumball
Djustice Sears-Duru
Mike Sheppard
Matthew Tierney
Conor Trainor
DTH van der Merwe

“It’s always a challenge for coaches to find the right mix to be competitive as possible while also looking towards the future and ensuring we are in good position for 2023, and we feel we’ve achieved that. With only 10 months of preparation, it can of course be challenging – but the group is in a good space, and have met that challenge head on,” said head coach Kingsley Jones.

In their final pre-World Cup match, the Canadian men will be taking on fellow RWC participants, USA Eagles at 7pm PT on Saturday, September 7th, at BC Place Stadium.